Review: The Magic Wand Original and Pop Top Deluxe G-Spotter Attachment

Given the opportunity to review the Magic Wand and Pop Top Deluxe G-Spotter attachment from the ever-wonderful Good Vibes, I squealed and made grabby hands so fast my cats hauled ass into the next room. While they come in a kit, I really only wanted to review this for the wand, seeing the attachment and bottle of water-based lube as a lovely body-safe bonus.

To be honest, my sex toy history is a sad one. For quite some time I approached sex toys with the same attitude as that guy you know who only drinks Coors Light because it isn’t really that bad so why bother trying anything else? As long as the toy (singular!) I own gets me off, I don’t need a different one. That would be like buying different cars for no reason, right?

Wrong. So, so, wrong.

Through all of that, there was one toy that managed to permeate my self-imposed sexual ignorance. The toy. The one that only needed to be referred to by one name, like Cher, or Madonna: The Hitachi.

Now, I know, I know, it’s not the Hitachi anymore (apparently they finally got wise to the fact that their name had achieved Kleenex-level brand recognition as THE vibrator for vulvas that aren’t fucking around [and because being known for reliably providing orgasms to the masses for decades is terrible. Terrible, I tell you!]). Now it’s the Magic Wand Original, which I truthfully just had to Google to make sure that was the right name.

It will always be the Hitachi in my heart.

The attachment clocks in at 5″ insertable length, and just under 1 1/2″ in diameter (save for the end, which is a bit thicker because, you know, g-spot stuff). It’s solid silicone, which is awesome (non-porous body-safe ok-to-use-with-multiple-partners for the WIN), and means that it’s soft without being squishy and firm without being rigid. It picks up lint like a motherfucker, but it’s nothing routine cleaning can’t take easily take care of.

More specifics are here, but you’re not reading this because you want stats. You’re reading this because I rubbed this stuff all up against my bits and you want to know if it’s worth your hard-earned cash monies to be able to do the same to yours. For the record, I think it is.

The attachment comes in purple or black, purple being my color of choice. When I got it out of the box the first time, I could not. stop. laughing. Has no one ever thought this looked like something Jim Henson would fuck his wife with? The purple, the Gonzo’s nose shaped curve… throw in the fact that it fits over my (incidentally tiny) fist, and I felt more like drawing eyes on it and using it like a puppet than putting it in my vagina.

So I did.

Remember when I said it picks up lint?

Because I am an adult.

Because I am an adult.

The Hitachi Magic Wand Original is initially a little intimidating. While it wasn’t as loud as I was expecting, it is not quiet by any means. My usual go-to (We-Vibe’s Tango) is damn near silent. Enough so that I’ve used it while my partner was asleep without waking them up. The wand, however, is not the toy for stealthurbating.

As someone who likes some major privacy, this meant waiting until I was home alone to really use it. The first time my partner told me they were running out to the store, I leapt up like an orgasm-starved ninja and went to town.

The wand itself, while a bit imposing, is extremely powerful. The low setting is rumbly as all fuck in a good way, while the high setting is just a buzzy mess (for me). Its giant head and slight texture means that you don’t need to be as precise as you would with a smaller vibe. The most success I’ve had with this is when I’ve found an angle that works (which is almost any) and just held it there. As an especially lazy person, I dig this. If I want to work for an orgasm I will, but sometimes I just want to plug something into the fucking wall and hang on for the ride.

One of the only downsides to that power is that it’s a little jarring after the very second I orgasm. Sensitivity overload over here. If the vibration itself is too much for you I would definitely try using the thin side of the attachment as a barrier. Or, if that’s all you’re looking for, there are also other tops for just this purpose that are half the cost of the G-spot attachment. As the wand’s head is a bit porous, you should be putting something over it (be it a top or a condom).

The attachment is the unsung hero, though, without a doubt. There’s a little nub that’s designed to rub against the clit, and while everyone’s bits are different, this one is surgically precise for me. Not only does this mean good things when it’s attached to the wand, but its myriad of other uses become apparent pretty quickly.

Do not ignore the attachment’s potential as its own toy. My little fist fits in it perfectly, which makes for some interesting punchy thrusting when you’re looking to go vibeless. ALSO, It’s totally waterproof. And while the wand (plugging into a wall and everything) is not, lots of great vibes are. The silicone transfers vibration nicely, particularly of the rumbly variety, which makes this and my Tango a match made in shower heaven (and makes me feel like a masturbatoy MacGyver).

If you’ve ever been curious about the wand, I’d take the plunge. The lube I could take or leave, but I’m not the biggest lube lover in general. The Magic Wand Original is listed on GoodVibes for $54.95, with the Pop Top Deluxe Silicone G-spotter going for $40 (and non-insertable silicone tops for $20). The kit altogether costs $89 (including the wand, G-spotter, and lube), and I’m always a fan of a money-saving bundle. Ultimately they’re a great pair, and the G-spot attachment is versatile enough that you’re not limited to wand-play. If you already own the wand (and even if you don’t), the attachment alone is worth it’s solo price.

 

This toy was provided to me in exchange for an honest and unbiased review. 

3 thoughts on “Review: The Magic Wand Original and Pop Top Deluxe G-Spotter Attachment

  1. Awesome! I love how much fun you had with it! Totally different from my review of the same product, and that is so cool! 🙂 Hope to read more of your reviews!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Review: VixSkin Mustang | Undercover Outsider

Leave a Reply

